China and Iran abstained from voting on Zelensky’s video message

  Fact-checking   Autentic   DMCA   Report

UN, September 16 – RIA Novosti. China, Iran, Brazil and a number of other countries abstained from voting in the UN General Assembly on the issue of granting Vladimir Zelensky the right to send a video message for the high-level week of the General Assembly session.
Earlier, the General Assembly voted for the corresponding decision.
The decision was taken by a simple majority, which means that non-voters and abstentions were not taken into account when counting votes. As a result, 101 states voted in favor. Seven (Russian Federation, Cuba, Belarus, Eritrea, North Korea, Nicaragua, Syria) were against.
19 countries abstained, including China, Brazil, Iran, Iraq, Pakistan, South Africa.
Among those who did not vote: Vietnam, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan.
The USA, Great Britain, Germany, Georgia, India, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, France, Ukraine, Estonia and others voted for the decision.

Read also:

The US delegation does not plan to meet with Russian counterparts at the UN General Assembly

Translation by RJ983

Disclaimer: Via RIA Novosti – Checked

  Fact-checking   Autentic   DMCA   Report

Show More


Support Independent Journalism in Brazil - headquarters Rio de Janeiro. Replicates and elaborates knowledge and matters of public utility. Please, donate. > Donate to

Related Articles

Adblock Detected.

Desative seu AdBlock para poder acessar o conteúdo gratuito. Disable your AdBlock.